The WABIP holds a biennial congress known as the World Congress for Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology (WCBIP), with host sites rotating among the Asia-Pacific region, the Americas, and Europe.

Attendees participate in world-class scientific programs including discussions about disease states, new techniques and technologies, education sessions and procedure-related workshops.

2024 - Bali Indonesia

2026 - Melbourne Australia
Preparations are underway for WCBIP Melbourne 2026. Stay tuned for more information.
In addition to the world-class scientific and cultural programs at our events, the WABIP is proud to recognize and celebrate notable persons and achievements in the bronchology and interventional pumonology community, through four special Awards presented at every WCBIP congress. Click the following banner to learn more:

The first ever WCBIP was held in 1978 in Tokyo, Japan with Dr. Shigeto Ikeda, inventor of the flexible bronchoscope, as congress president. This landmark event was followed by congresses in host sites rotating around the world.

Past WCBIP Host Sites & Presidents

  • 2022 Marseille, France Philippe Astoul
  • 2020 Shanghai, China / Virtual Guangfa Wang
  • 2018 Rochester, USA Eric Edell
  • 2016 Florence, Italy Stefano Gasparini
  • 2014 Kyoto, Japan Teruomi Miyazawa
  • 2012 Cleveland, USA Atul Mehta
  • 2010 Budapest, Hungary Zsolt Papai
  • 2008 Tokyo, Japan Habumi Kato
  • 2006 Buenos Aires, Argentina Hugo Estiva
  • 2004 Barcelona, Spain Pablo Diaz
  • 2002 Boston, USA John Beamis
  • 2000 Yokohama, Japan Hirokuni Yoshimura
  • 1998 Budapest, Hungary Edgar Szekely & Janos Strausz
  • 1996 Taipei, Taiwan Guang-Ming Shiao
  • 1994 Munich, Germany John Nakhosteen
  • 1992 Rochester USA Udaya Prakash
  • 1989 Tokyo & Kyoto, Japan Masayuki Niitsuma
  • 1986 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil F. Aprigiano
  • 1984 Rome, Italy S. Valenti
  • 1982 San Diego, USA James Harrell
  • 1980 Duesseldorf, Germany W. Massen
  • 1978 Tokyo, Japan Shigeto Ikeda