The Distiguished WABIP Regent Award
The WABIP presents the Distiguished WABIP Regent Award to any Regent of the WABIP who has made significant contributions to the development of the activities of WABIP in his country during his term as Regent. The award is recognizes the key role of the Regents in the structure of the WABIP. The Distinguished WABIP Regent Award shall be awarded to the recipient at the biennial World Congress for Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology (WCBIP).

Prior Recipients of the Distiguished WABIP Regent Award:

  • Erik van der Heijden (2020), Spasoje Popević (2022)
Nomination Submission Deadline:
  • July 1, 2024

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Candidate must be nominated by a member of the WABIP Executive Board, and send his/her application with related documents to the WABIP Administrative Office. The nomination and documents shall be forwarded to the WABIP Awards committee for final review and determination.
  • Candidate must be a member of the WABIP in good standing.
  • Candidate must be a Regent of any of the countries belonging to WABIP at the moment of the nomination
  • Candidate must submit a completed application form (below) in addition to the following documents: a recent curriculum vitae, a history of his participation in the WABIP, and one photograph of the candidate.

Judging criteria:

  • Candidates will have their applications reviewed by the WABIP Award committee.
  • Candidates will be evaluated based on THREE CRITERIA (1) Importance of his or her personal involvement in the organization of WABIP activities in his or her country (2) Importance of the amount of WABIP active members in good standing in his or her country , 3) Importance of his her personal involvement in the global activities of WABIP.

Recipient shall receive:

  • The award recipient will be officially recognized in the WCBIP/WCBE program, opening ceremony, and WABIP website.
  • Each award recipient will receive a plaque and a diploma of the award