WABIP committees play an important role in programs and processes of our international organization. Competent, enthusiastic volunteers contribute to committee function to assure tasks are completed on time, and in a manner consistent with the mission and vision of the WABIP. Committee membership represents the broad geographical range of our society and is open to all members in good standing of the WABIP.

Nominations and self-nominations for open committee seats occur once every two years. Announcements of openings are made on the WABIP website, email notification and social media postings. Interested persons must complete the committee member nomination form and submit it to WABIP administrative staff. Please note that it is not possible to appoint every individual who volunteers for a specific committee and that self-nomination does not guarantee selection for that particular committee.

Each committee has a Chair named by the Chairman of the WABIP and up to seven committee members. Committee members are recommended by the WABIP Chairman based on the volunteer’s expertise, interest and experience after careful review of all applications. Committee selections must be approved by the WABIP executive board. Duration of service on a WABIP committee is usually for a minimum of two years.

Apply to be a WABIP committee member: You may apply anytime for a committee as long as a position is open. Please find the online application form and committee openings here.

Committees Mandated by WABIP Bylaws
Executive Committee
This committee conducts WABIP daily business and communicates regularly with the Board of Regents, all committees, taskforces and other WABIP groups, and the Administrative Office. Members of this committee are composed of those in the Executive Board only. Formally, the Executive Committee is a sub-committee of the Board of Regents.

  • Chair: Hideo Saka (Japan)
  • Past-chair: Silvia Quadrelli (Argentina)
  • General: Stefano Gasparini (Italy), David Fielding (Australia), Naofumi Shinagawa (Japan), Philippe Astoul (France), Menaldi Rasmin (Indonesia)

Education Committee
This committee is tasked with overseeing various educational projects of the WABIP, proposing new projects and reviewing project proposals from any source. This committee collaborates with other WABIP committees/sections/groups, and is in constant communication with the Executive Board.

  • Chair: Ali Musani (USA)
  • Past-chair: Omer Elhag (Sudan)
  • General: Tunc Lacin (Turkey), Christian Ghattas (USA)

Membership Committee
This committee liaises with potential members or member societies, in order to extend our services to countries without WABIP membership. This committee also provides strategy proposals for increasing WABIP membership, and makes recommendations of ways to increase benefits of WABIP membership.

  • Chair: Changhui Wang (China)
  • Past-chair: Shaheen Islam (USA)
  • General: Shirish Shah (India), Yiming Zeng (China), Karan Madan (India)
Other WABIP Committees
Fundraising Committee
This committee is tasked with obtaining grants for WABIP educational and philanthropic projects by liaising with industry and completing grant applications (grant writing). This committee shall also provide proposals to the Executive Committee for other fundraising opportunities, and oversee the implementation of such proposals as necessary.

  • Chair: Alex Chee (USA)
  • General: Tudor Toma (UK)

Conflict of Interest Oversight Committee
This committee reviews all COI disclosures submitted by potential or existing members of the WABIP Executive Board, Board of Regents, Committees and other WABIP groups.

  • Chair: Fayez Kheir (USA)
  • Past-chair: Maria Simon (Romania)
  • General: Alberto Defranchi (Argentina)

Continued Medical Education Committee
This committee reviews all applications for endorsement or sponsorship of conferences, workshops, or congress-related educational and/or scientific activities. Applications for official endorsement or sponsorship are available on the WABIP website, and must be completed and submitted by the course director of the host institution or society.

  • Chair: Mohammed Munavvar (UK)
  • Past-chair: Samira Shojaee (USA)
  • General: Ales Rozman (Slovenia), Hirsh Koyi (India), Majid Shafiq (USA)

Awards Committee
This committee reviews nominations and applications for the Killian Centenary Medal, WABIP-Dumon Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. The committee also selects awardees after careful review of all abstracts eligible for the Heinrich Becker Awards for Research and Clinical Innovation.

  • Chair: Sushil Jain (India)
  • Past-chair: Christopher Gilbert (USA)
  • General: Ashkan Moslehi (Iran), Nikhil Meena (USA), Wahju Aniwidyaningsih (Indonesia)

Social Media Committee
The main objective of this committee is to promote interventional pulmonology via WABIP's social media accounts, in accordance with internal guidelines. This committee also provides proposals to increase social media engagement in order to advance WABIP's mission of connecting a growing network of medical professionals devoted to the treatment of airway, pleura, lung and esophageal diseases.

  • Chair: Philip Emmanouil (Greece)
  • Past-chair: Kedar Hibare (India)
  • General: Eric Tenda (Indonesia), Jasleen Pannu (USA), George Cheng (USA), Karan Madan (India)

Vice-chair Selection Committee
Using objective criteria, this committee is tasked with recommending 2-3 candidates to the WABIP Board of Regents for every biennial Vice-chair election. The Vice-chair carries out leadership responsibilities and tasks in accordance with the principles and objectives of the WABIP to assure the credibility and enhanced growth and sustainability of our organization.

  • Chair: Silvia Quadrelli (Argentina)
  • General: Kazuhiro Yasufuku (Canada), Changhui Wang (China), Ali Musani (USA)

Bylaws Revision Committee
This committee reviews the WABIP bylaws yearly and develops proposed revisions. Final revisions by the committee will be submitted to the WABIP executive committee for review. After which, the revised Bylaws are presented to the WABIP Board of Regents for voting.

  • Chair: Ajay Bedekar (USA)
  • Past-chair: Wahju Aniwidyaningsih (Indonesia)
  • General: Evica Budišin (Serbia)

WABIP Ad-hoc Committees
Ad-hoc committees may be created for the purpose of specific tasks or WABIP-initiated projects.