Executive Board
Zsolt Pápai, MD

Dr. Zsolt Pápai-Székely graduated from Semmelweis Medical University in Budapest, Hungary in 1989. He is Board certified in Pulmonary Medicine and in Medical Oncology. After working as a staff physician and Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Korányi National Institute of Pulmonology, Dr. Pápai traveled widely in the United States and Europe to further his education. In 2003, he was named Head of the Department of Pulmonology and Thoracic Oncology at Székesfehérvár, making it rapidly one of the busiest interventional pulmonology referral centers in his country. Dr. Pápai’s major clinical interests are in bronchoscopy and particularly in the diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer. He has a longstanding history of leadership, and was Chair of the Hungarian Association for Bronchology. Since 2010, he served as Secretary General of the Hungarian Respiratory Society. He also served as the International Regent for Hungary in the American College of Chest Physicians, and was elected chair of the International Council from 2009-2010, and was President of International Bronchoesophagological Society from 2010-2012. He has been an active member of the WABIP since many years, and was chosen to be the President of the highly successful 10th World Congress for Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology held in Budapest in 2010.

Silvia Quadrelli, MD

As a specialist in the field of lung cancer, Dr. Quadrelli has been responsible for promoting the creation of multidisciplinary cancer boards all over Argentina and in other countries in South America. From her position as Director of a Thoracic Oncology Centre (Buenos Aires British Hospital) and in different leadership positions in several respiratory and cancer associations, Dr. Quadrelli has had extensive experience in being in charge of disseminating the increasing role of bronchoscopists in the molecular diagnosis of lung cancer in Argentina and South America. In regards to board membership roles, Dr. Quadrelli has had an extensive experience in being in various capacities as a leader in the Argentinean Association for Bronchology and the South American Association for Bronchology. Additionally, she has been long involved in the WAB and WABIP, contributing to its congress, the WCBIP, as a member of its scientific committee in the past 4 congresses (including Florence 2016). Dr. Quadrelli has also participated in the committee of the South American Association for Bronchology Conference since 1995 and up to 2016. Other international association responsibilities included the American College of Chest Physicians, serving in the Steering Committee Cultural Diversity Network (2008-2011), as a Governor for Argentina at the International Committee (2009-2016) and as a member of the Nominating Committee (2011-2013).

dr. henri colt bronchoscopy international wabip chair
Henri Colt, MD
Immediate Past Chair

Dr. Henri Colt is a physician leader, writer, award winning medical educator, and ethicist with interests ranging from interventional pulmonology to lung cancer, ethics, grief, cinema, and the applications of film, art and aesthetics in medical education. His numerous publications include original research papers, training manuals such as The Essential Bronchoscopist Series, reviews, book chapters, essays, and textbooks including A Patient-centered Approach to Central Airway Disorders (with S. Murgu, Elsevier Press 2012), The Picture of Health: Medical Ethics and the Movies (with L. Friedman and S. Quadrelli, Oxford University Press 2011), Flex-Rigid Pleuroscopy (with P. Lee, CMP Medica 2005), and Manual of Pleural Procedures (with P. Mathur, Lippincott 1999). Dr. Colt holds a medical degree from the University of Nice, France, and is Professor Emeritus of the University of California, Irvine. In addition to honorary affiliations and a history of leadership, he has received awards from many international and national medical societies. Dr. Colt has lived, worked or taught in diverse social and cultural environments around the globe. He is committed to enhancing the timely implementation and competent performance of medical procedures at the patient’s bedside, and advocates for the democratization of knowledge and dissemination of a more uniform, multidimensional structured approach to procedure-related learning.

hideo saka, nagoya
Hideo Saka, MD
Secretary General

Dr. Hideo Saka graduated from Nagoya University School of Medicine in 1980. After taking his residency in Aichi Cancer Center, and Nagoya First Red Cross Hospital, Dr. Saka engaged in academic clinical research works at Nagoya University Hospital. As chair of the Department of Respiratory Medicine at National Nagoya Hospital since 1998, Dr. Saka's focus is on clinical research on pulmonary intervention and cancer chemotherapy. Dr. Saka received the Ikeda award from Japanese Society for Respiratory Endoscopy (JSRE) in 2006, and has been elected as a non-voting president of the annual meeting of JSRE in 2016. He has served on the Board of Regents of WABIP, and played an important role in international education on Bronchology. His main targets are pulmonary intervention on the central airway diseases, and diagnostic approach to the peripheral lung lesions. Many publications prove his efforts and creativity in this field. He is honored to be a part of steering committee of this Society.

eric edell, md
Eric Edell, MD
20th WCBIP President (2018)

Eric S. Edell, M.D. is a Professor of Medicine and Consultant in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. He received his B.S. at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas in 1976 and his M.D. at the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City, Kansas in 1981. After internship and residency training in Kansas City, Dr. Edell pursued subspecialty training in thoracic diseases at Mayo Clinic in Rochester. He became a consultant in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Mayo in 1991 and is Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. He was appointed Vice Chair of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in 1994 and served in this role until 2001. Dr Edell continues to be involved in the use and development of technology for the treatment of benign and malignant airway diseases.

Guangfa Wang, MD
21st WCBIP President (2020)